Okay, so for those of you who don’t already know…I’m completely obsessed with The Hunger Games!!! But then again, everyone I know whose read the books are also quite obsessed with THG as well!! With talk about casting for the upcoming movie all abuzz, I thought it’d be fun to post my dream casting. Let me know what ya’ll think!! =)

Why these choices you may ask? Well…

Katniss: I think Emily Browning is an amazing actress who has shown alot of range, has the right look, and is still young! Unlike some of the other “contenders” that have been talked about. I was unsure about Jodelle Ferland until I saw her Katniss pics from Halloween. I think she could also do a great job!

Peeta: A lot of talk has been going around about Alex Pettyfer being cast as Peeta. I was okay with the idea until I realized he was cast as the lead in Beastly, I am Number Four, and talk of him being cast as Jace in The Mortal Instruments Series. I’m sure he is a fine actor and he has a great look for Peeta, but seriously? I don’t think he should have a monopoly on all blonde lead roles in any book to movie adaptions. Gaspard Ulliel may not be too well-known here in the States but I think he’s fantastic! Sure his hair is a little dark, but a little bleach can fix that up! He has a cute boyish charm to him which makes me think Peeta. I’d love for him to have a chance at this!

Gale: I didn’t really have no one in mind for Gale until I saw some Narnia trailers and I was like OMG! Ben Barnes looks how fictionary (is that a word?) Gale looked in my head! He’s got the look and the acting chops and the hair and the scruff and YES PLEASE! You may notice my 2nd runner-up for Gale is also Gaspard Ulliel, if Pettyfer’s blonde-guy-takeover continues, then maybe Ulliel will have a chance with Gale. And hey he won’t have to bleach his hair!

Haymitch: From what I’ve seen around the interwebs, Robert Downey Jr. is the hands down favorite to play Haymitch! My only concern is that he may be a little too busy and I’m not sure how he’d feel about playing a drunkard after all he’s been through. That brings me to my 2nd runner-up Jeffrey Dean Morgan, he’s just like RDJ but with less demons in his closet when it comes to alcohol.

Effie: I have only ever imagined Kristin Chenoweth as Effie! As soon as I read the name and description, it was her! Apparently a lot of people have the same feeling. I feel like this character was written just for her and she’s expressed interest in it, so *fingers crossed* here’s hoping!

Cinna: I’m going for an unconventional thing here. I think that all cleaned-up Joseph Gordon Levitt would be absolutely fascinating as our wonderful Cinna! This kid has acting chops like you wouldn’t believe, backed by an immense filmography and range! I think this could be the role where people realize “Oh hey! He is amazing in everything he does!!” My less conventional dream casting would be John Leguizamo, I absolutely love him and everything he does. Collins did not describe Cinna as Latino at all but….come on!! He’s so awesome!!!

Snow: Just like Effie, as soon as I read the description for President Snow, I immediately thought of Steve Buscemi. This was pre-Boardwalk Empire, so I hadn’t seen him in anything in a while. But it was immediate! He has that certain look to him and he can play conniving really well. Unfortunately, he may now be too busy with Empire, so my runner-up is the man who creeps me out the most…Christopher Walken. Don’t get me wrong, he is a fabulous actor! However, he gives me nightmares. *shudders* So of course I think he’d make a great baddie!

Prim & Rue: I almost feel like these rolls could be interchangeable. Or even played by the same girl and just change a few things through make-up and what not. Katniss makes it very clear how much Rue reminds her of Prim, so it wouldn’t be too crazy! Either way I think Chloe Moretz has the talent and look to play either. Probably Rue more than Prim because she’s pretty kick ass (no pun intended). I think as alternates/back ups Elle Fanning and Bella Thorne  could also work. While reading the book I actually imagined Prim/Rue as Isabella Acres (Better Off Ted), but she’s only 9 or 10 years old =/ I just love her hair and imagined her innocence in these characters.

I still haven’t completely finished dream casting, but I know a few actors/actresses I would love to see thrown in the mix.

Val Kilmer, possibly as Plutarch Heavensbee. Portia de Rossi, I’m thinking for Portia, probably because of the name, or maybe an Effie runner-up. Maria Doyle Kennedy, as Katniss and Prim’s mother. Emma Stone, as Foxface. Ian Somerhalder, as Finnick Odair. Robin Williams, as Beetee. Betty White, as Mags. And Meryl Streep, as Coin.

I know some are a far-fetch..but…it’s my dream casting, I’ll do what I want!! =)

Let me know opinions!!!